Vegalicious

Microwave to the Rescue

Posted on: February 19, 2009

Breakfast

For breakfast this morning I made some yummy uncooked oatmeal! I think I like uncooked oatmeal better because it’s not so slimy. It was a mix of 1/2 cup oats, 3/4 cup soymilk, 1/4 cup raisins, and a little bit of vanilla extract. There’s no picture, it just wasn’t pretty. Next time I’ll make it look much more appetizing!

As a mid-morning snack I had a Nature Valley Oat’s n’ Honey granola bar. My family’s been munching on these snacks for as long as I can remember. We buy the 40-pack at Costco. That’s some hard-core granola munching.

Lunch

This meal is photographed for you! First, I started off with an apple:

21809-002

I’d planned on making some scrambled eggs with veggie sausage, and maybe some toast, basically breakfast for lunch. But at the last minute I decided to accompany my mom and sister to the Clackamas mall for some clothes shopping. I didn’t have much time to make lunch, so for the first time ever I used the microwave to quickly cook up eggs:

21809-0041

They turned out PERFECT! I’ve never liked how a pan turns the eggs a brown color and makes them crispy, so this method is perfect! I threw in two eggs and a couple veggie breakfast sausages with the eggs for flavor, and black pepper on top for MORE flavor!

In the car I ate an apple pie Larabar. Again, no picture. I was very lazy with pictures today.

At the mall I had a few sips of my sister’s Jamba Juice– “Razzamatazz” flavored. I’m guessing it was mostly raspberries, milk, and orange juice, at least that’s all I could taste in it. For myself I got a soy capuccino from Seattle’s Best Coffee.

Dinner

This is not all I had for dinner! Sure looks like it though. But the fact is I also ate an apple and a chocolate Larabar. I ate two Larabars today! This is a spinach/lettuce salad (including snap peas! nomnom!) with raspberry vinaigrette.

21809-007

Overall my appetite has been light today but I suppose that happens sometimes.

Right now I’m listening to the Twilight soundtrack. Has anyone else heard that soundtrack? What’s your favorite song? I’m very torn for favorite between Rob Pattinson’s song (the name escapes me) and Flightless Bird by Iron & Wine.

Verse of the Day: Tonight I’m not going to post a verse of the day. Actually I found a small piece of paper in my Bible which looks like it has been used as a bookmark for a very long time. It belonged to my great-grandmother, in fact. I’ll post what it says. It really helps me when I’m having a hard time.

Count your blessings instead of your crosses,
Count your gains instead of your losses,
Count your joys instead of your woes,
Count your friends instead of your foes,
Count your smiles instead of your tears,
Count your courage instead of your fears,
Count your full years instead of your lean,
Count your kind deeds instead of your mean,
Count your health instead of your wealth,
Count on God instead of yourself.

Have a fine night bloggies! šŸ˜€

5 Responses to "Microwave to the Rescue"

kkkkkkkkkkkk
u take gorgeous pictures
and make beautiful food

love the quote at the end!

Fabulous!! The food and especially the quote šŸ™‚

That’s funny! I was just checking out the Jamba Juice website today to see if there were any good smoothies I could drink on the road!

How amazing that you found your great-grandmother’s bookmark in your bible!

Oh my gosh, love your eats! I have never had Jamba juice before, but that name of the drink sounds awesome!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

