Vegalicious

Raw Breakfast

Posted on: November 13, 2008

I made this breakfast last night and was so excited to eat it this morning! I thought about it all night! Don’t worry, I slept also… ๐Ÿ˜€ Last night I blended together two bananas, a handful of cashews, cocoa powder, and a tiny bit of honey to sweeten it up. It turned out a lovely chocolate color. Then this morning I threw in some diced apples for sweetness and crunch:

000_0503

Beautiful, isn’t it? I was so excited! But unfortunately, I was very disappointed by this breakfast. After a few bites, my stomach started feeling queasy. I needed solid food or I was going to hurl! So I quickly scarfed down a wholegrain english muffin with Smart Balance.

Well, in my first attempt of eating raw I failed. Honestly, I think it had a lot to do with the particular bananas I used. The peel on them was fine and everything, but in the very core of them, the flesh was almost black. Kind of strange… they smelled a little funny, too. Can bananas rot from the inside out?

Anyway, the point of all this rambling is that I’m determined to eat a full raw breakfast at least once, so I’m definitely trying this again, once I buy some different bananas!

By the way, this breakfast was inspired by Agnes. She makes the most mouth-watering (looking) raw meals!

I hope you all had a great day and it was so fun reading all of your “Seven Facts About Myself”‘s!

Verse of the Day: “All a man’s ways seem right to him, but the Lord weighs the heart.” Proverbs 21:2

4 Responses to "Raw Breakfast"

Hmm…ohh Josie,I’m soo sorry it was a failure =_(

Well….bout the bananas ,,,OH YES,they can ROT INSIDE!!!! I’ve had a similar experience to yours a few weeks ago and I wanted to throw out after taking a few bites…..!!!!!! =///
Try to buy some REALY GOOD FRESH BANANAS and try again =))

Ohh!! And try sth like THIS -> http://agnesworldofveganpleasures.blogspot.com/2008/10/weekend-y-feelings.html

=)) It was SOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS!!!! I LOVED IT!! You can modify it with whatever you want =))

Hope you’ll be successful in the future..!!

Oh no!! Too bad that the breakfast was a disappointment; and even WORSE that it made you feel sick!! Eek!!

Definitely stick with “less ripe” bananas.

i’m sorry your raw breakfast didnt set well with your stomach! but an english muffin makes everything better. as for the bananas, im not really sure. i like to buy organic because they seem to last longer.

have a great day josie!

I’m sorry your breakfast made you sick! My stomach is very particular about what I eat for breakfast too, it’s very picky! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

