Vegalicious

Getting Into the Season

Posted on: November 10, 2008

I was elated the other day when I turned on the radio and Christmas songs were playing!!!!!!!!! My favorite holiday is fast approaching! So to get into the spirit, this morning I created what I call Christmas oats– my usual banana oats, but with a twist!

000_0427

Oats made with water, banana, cinnamon, cloves, and crushed hazelnuts. It tasted very festive! Especially with the snowman/candle ambiance. Here’s a better view of the oats:

000_0431

One of my favorite bowls to date.

Just before lunch, it started pouring down rain outside! I mean really pouring! The streets were flooded, and I could barely make it to my car through the downpour! Therefore, I was in serious need of a comforting lunch. Soup was the perfect answer. I heated up a can of Amy’s lentil soup (I was too hungry to wait for it to cook on the stove!) and had a nice bowl with a thick slice of sprouted grain bread on the side, smeared with Smart Balance. The curvy bread was a perfect little scoop for the soup!

000_0436

After lunch I went to a Mexican-themed cookout. They/he (it was my friend’s own fundraising thing) served tamales/enchiladas/tostadas, that kind of thing. I opted out of eating (I’d already had lunch and anyway, most of the food had meat in it) and instead had a couple small cups of coffee mixed with hot chocolate powder. Mmm, love mochas!

For dinner tonight I tried to make a dent in my english muffin collection. Yes, I bought more english muffins- how can I resist? They’re so yummy! I had a whole-grain one this time- not toasted, just soft and chewy- spread with a generous layer of peanut butter, probably 2 1/2 tablespoons worth, and on the side, a whole sliced orange, half a sliced apple, and some jicama chunks. The jicama didn’t pair well with the rest of the sweet/salty dinner, but I ate it anyway.

000_0451

Well, there you have it: my day in food. And guess what- it was all vegan! Sometimes I do that without even trying, like today.

Verse of the Day: “Better a patient man than a warrior, a man who controls his temper than one who takes a city.” Proverbs 16:32

4 Responses to "Getting Into the Season"

Hooray!! I too love Christmas songs πŸ™‚

Loooove your eats!!!

Love your festive breakfast!! I can’t wait till Christmas either πŸ™‚

christmas songs on the radio? i only wish! i love christmas, it is my favorite time of the year!

english muffins + nut butter is one of my favorite things – love your dinner!

Hey Josie!!

YOU’VE BEEN TAGGED!!!!!!! =DDD
Pls visit my blog to know more..!!!

Well….I LOVE CHRISTMAS TIME!!!!! It’s the BEST of the year YAY!! =))) Can’t wait !!!!! All the atmosphere etc…ohh soo nice…=))

Your eats are soo good!! AND VEGAN!!!!!!! YOU CAN DO THIS , as you can see here =D

Enjoy your day!!

Leave a Reply

