Vegalicious

So Dark

Posted on: November 4, 2008

It’s so dark outside! I’m not a fan of daylight savings, but then again, who is? It’s so strange when the sun sets at 5:30.

Breakfast this morning was thrown together in a haste. I hate to say it, but I think I’ll have to be moving on- actually, digressing- to simpler breakfasts. I don’t have enough time on weekday mornings to prepare breakfast. I’ll just have to make up for it by going all-out on the weekend!

000_0287

Banana oats- made with oats, water, milk, salt and banana. At the end I sprinkled on some flax, and ate it with a peanut butter spoon! I also had a mug of coffee- observe the mug which is much larger than my breakfast bowl! What can I say, I’m a coffee addict.

000_0291

Mmm, banana goodness!

After I got home from school, I had this as a snack:

000_0295

Sorry for the unattractive bite marks, I forgot to take a picture until I was halfway finished.

I find that if I eat apple + peanut butter simultaneously, the apple “waters down” the peanut butter, but… if I take a bite of apple, then peanut butter, it works out perfectly! This might be my new favorite snack.

Dinner:

AMAZING! A total inspiration! I made baked beans, a fried egg, and sliced mushrooms on the side. The “inspired” part was the beans- from out of nowhere in my head popped up a recipe, haha. I didn’t measure anything so if you’d like to recreate it (trust me- you do!), here’s the ingredients, and the relative proportions:

  • 1/4 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic

Saute in olive oil, and add:

  • black pepper
  • cayenne pepper

Then in a separate pot lightly boil:

  • 1 can black beans
  • approx. 2 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

When the onions and garlic have softened, add to the pot of beans, sprinkle some salt over the top, stir, and serve!

000_0300

Sooo flavorful. I’m so proud!

000_0302

A bright yellow, spicy fried egg with black pepper- the perfect accompaniment to my “baked” beans!

For dessert, a pear:

000_0303

I ate him while watching Family Guy.

I’m going to go do homework and try not to watch Gossip Girl– I really need to work on this research paper.

G’night!

Verse of the Day: “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

5 Responses to "So Dark"

yum, everything looks delicious!

good luck on your research paper! i, too, have one due soon, and yet I still managed to watch gossip girl instead of getting more of my work done. i clearly don’t know how to prioritize!

Super dark here early in the evening as well.

Cute mug!!

Love your breakfast, snack, dessert…. yum!!

Hooray for Gossip Girl!! Better than writing a paper, for sure 😉

i am going to make those beans! they look delicious, and so easy. thanks for posting the recipe josie.

good luck on your paper! (GG was amazing! i watched it twice already)

Hey!!

Apples and nut butters ,,,,,,,,,,mmmmmm pure deliciousness!!!! =)))

Well…maybe you should prepare your breakfasts the night before?? It’ll save a lot of time =))) Give it a try!!

If you have time pls visit my new post ,will be happy!! =))

Have a great day!!

Your baked beans look fabulous, and I LOVE your snowman mug! Good luck with the paper!

Leave a Reply

