Vegalicious

Do As The French Do

Posted on: October 19, 2008

I was so excited when my new book came in the mail! I ordered French Women Don’t Get Fat by Mireille Guiliano. It’s true, isn’t it? French women really aren’t fat! I always thought it was because they walk everywhere, which is true to an extent, but another huge factor in maintaining their “happy weight,” apparently, is enjoying their food. Like, really enjoying it. Sitting down at every meal, taking their time, analyzing every flavor and texture. In addition, they cook with seasonal ingredients, and only the very best, so that eating is not a waste or a discomfort. You know what else I find interesting? They happily eat full-fat cheese, milk, yogurt, butter…but in moderation. We’ve all heard it again and again and it will always be true: moderation is key. Or, as they say in french, “Tout est question d’equilibre“- eat in balance.

For breakfast I roughly followed one of the recipes in her book. It’s called Grandma Louise’s Oatmeal with Grated Apple, but I call mine Apple-Raisin Oatmeal. In 1 cup plain, unsweetened soymilk, I cooked 1/4 cup oats for a few minutes and then added about 2 heaping tablespoons of grated apple, mostly the bright red peel. Then I mixed up some cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves (ratio of 2:1:1) and dumped that in the pot. Last, I threw in about a tablespoon or so of raisins, and let this all cook for about 5 minutes.

The funnest part of my meal was not the cooking, but the actual sitting down at the table (as suggested in my new favorite read) and enjoying my food! It literally took me about a half an hour to eat this small portion, and I still felt satisfied! What Mireille says in her book is so true: if you savor your food, it will last long after you’re done eating. Does that make sense? I reworded it a bit.

Here’s my oatmeal:

Question: What’s your favorite book about food/non-diets?

*Edit to add another question: Like the new layout? I think I’ll change it once a week or so, haha.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to "Do As The French Do"

HEYYYooo =)))

Here in Poland I read a book written by a doctor who’s vegan for 20 years (!!!) and he is really someone like a GURU!! :))
I think what he writes really makes sense…:) And it’s sooo simple!!

Well,I’d love to read some of the (MANY!!) English books bout that topic..:) (dreamin’ hah)

Thanx SO mUCH for commenting on my blog :)))

The layout is pretty!!!!! :))) Well, and changing it once a week is a CooL idea!!! Really!! So REFRESHING!!!!!! :-DDD

Hope to “see” you again on my new post today later on..:))

Enjoy the rest of the day!!

I really liked Skinny Bitch, but I think that one’s a given haha, a lot of people have read that. I like your new layout! That oatmeal sounds good.

Glad you liked the book! 🙂 I love “The Eat-Clean Diet” and “Raw Food Real World.”

LOVE the new layout! It looks so organized!
I don’t read a lot of food related books, but I do agree with the savoring your meal thing.

I’ve got to read this Skinny Bitch book! I’ve never even seen it before. In fact, I’m going to read all the books you guys request, haha! Non-diet books are my favorite type of book (I’m such a foodie)!

recommend*, not request

that book really is enthralling. my mother has french blood in her (she is very petite) and she has always cooked with flavor and *fat*. but if you enjoy your food and do not over do it, you will be satisfied and full. (fatt = full) l’amour et à manger!

and your oatmal is one of of my favorites (apple + spices + rasins) delicious for fall mornings! and definitely read skinny bitch! ( i also have skinny bitch in the kitch which has some fun, easy recipes)

looks shkrumptilishus
“mmmmm mmm”

i’ve heard of that book and it sounds good. i’ve never really read any food-type books except for some of diet for a small planet which my dad has from his hippie days.

Leave a Reply

