Vegalicious

Pumpkin Oatmeal, Take Two and CHOCOLAATE

Posted on: September 30, 2008

Hehe, I like chocolate.

Yesterday morning I decided to give the pumpkin oatmeal another go, using VeggieGirl’s method of banana-nut butter-pumpkin oats, and it turned out fabulous! I used peanut butter in place of hazelnut butter because unfortunately I don’t have any hazelnut butter. Thanks VeggieGirl!

Then this morning I literally woke up craving chocolate oats. Which is weird, because I don’t think I’ve ever had them before. Anyway, we finally had chocolate soymilk in my house that hadn’t already been drank by my chocoholic family, so I greedily used up the rest of it making choco-banana oats! 1/4 cup oats cooked in 1/2 cup water, then cooked again in 1/2 cup chocolate soymilk (I use Soy Slender brand- 70 calories a cup!) mixed with a tablespoon of flax and a sliced banana. By the end of cooking, the banana was broken into tiny pieces and dispersed throughout the oats, making for a delicious, thick, gooey bowl. It tasted like dessert for breakfast. It’s a must try!

Verse of the Day: “So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?'” Hebrews 13:6

9 Responses to "Pumpkin Oatmeal, Take Two and CHOCOLAATE"

Thanks for visiting my blog! Chocolate Oats? I have to try that!! I love your blog, I am adding you to my list!

OH! and I wanted to answer your thought. Yes, silk nog tastes so much better than dairy egg nog. It doesn’t have that icky thickness that can make you gag. It is just delicious!

HELL YES!!! Sooooo glad that the oatmeal worked out for you 🙂

Oooh, the choco-banana version sounds quite scrumptious – yum!

Did someone say “chocolate”???

Yes, I have to try those combinations! Luckily, I got chocolate soy milk at the store yesterday. I love chocolate soy milk.

I also have had pumpkin oats 5 times in the past week, thanks to lovely leftovers. Love it. And thank you veggiegirl for the delicious recipe!

The choco-banana oats sound delicious! Glad you conquered the pumpkin oat universe!

choco-banana oatmeal sounds fantastic! definitely making that tomorrow morning.

I love that soy milk it is the best.. in the winter i use to heat it up for a hot cocoa like treat!

dang eight ppl beat me to it! but yeah.. hi 🙂

Leave a Reply

