Vegalicious

Finally

Posted on: September 28, 2008

Finally! I found pumpkin at my grocery store! So I went on a pumpkin baking spree! Last night I made
vegan pumpkin muffins
. The flavor was good, but I accidentally added 3 x the amount of oil the recipe called for, so they were a little..um..moist. I also baked a loaf of molasses bread.

I’ve been waiting to make pumpkin oats for a long time! This morning, the mix was 1/4 cup oats, heaping 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 water and 1/2 cup soy milk, tsp agave nectar, cinnamon, vanilla, and cloves. I have to admit I wasn’t impressed. Maybe I did something wrong? The pumpkin flavor was too strong and it tasted more like a soup.. than oatmeal? At any rate, it sure was pretty in my new fall-colored yellow bowl! To make up for the lack of flavor I also had a slice of molasses bread with peanut butter.

Verse of the Day: “But I tell you: love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” Matthew 5:44

6 Responses to "Finally"

piano IS amazing! that’s so cool that you play too.

i took the SAT last semester but i didn’t get my scores because my phone alarm went off, which is really stupid because other people don’t get in trouble for actually TALKING on the phone during the test. :/

oh man i love pumpkin oats. so filling and so good for you!

New blog reader here. Do you always use 1/4 cup oats to 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk? I find that a good ratio is the same for all main ingredients (ie. I would have used 1/2 cup oats in this) and a little less of the addition (maybe 1/4 cup pumpkin or 1/4 banana, for example.) Just an idea to not give up on the Pumpkin Oats just yet 🙂

Yayyy you found some!

You’ve been busy cooking! I take it no luck with your camera yet? 😦

alaina- that’s unbelievable! just because your phone went off? how frustrating.

river- Nope, no luck yet. I’m looking for a good camera and in the mean time trying to get my old one to work!

Hooray for pumpkin muffins (sorry about the extra oil!) and molasses bread!! 😀

Ahh, so sorry about the pumpkin oats 😦 I recommend adding a banana and nut-butter for balancing out the strong pumpkin flavor. Scroll down to the bottom of this post (see link below), to read how I make my pumpkin oats (which turn out fabulously, if I do say so myself 🙂 ):

http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2008/09/its-baaack.html

So sorry that I missed your post yesterday – I was at my dance showcase all day.

Leave a Reply

