Vegalicious

Sleepy Meals and Book Reviews

Posted on: September 25, 2008

Happy Humpday everyone! Mine was drenched in sleep and sprinkled with Physics homework. However, I did manage to eat delicious meals along the way. πŸ™‚

My camera died right after I prepared the most beautiful breakfast I’ve ever made. It was a Fage with honey stirred in, and topped with banana slices, warm blueberries, and cinnamon. The fruit shone like gems! No picture, sorry, but it will be in my memory for ever! Can’t wait to recreate it.
In the meantime, here’s my breakfast from yesterday:

Oats with a little less peanut butter than I usually add. I almost like it better with less peanut butter; it lets the other flavors stand out.

My lunch wasn’t quite worth photographing today; I had a wrap with just a tortilla and Muenster cheese, and also half of a refried-bean sandwich. Random, I know.

This afternoon I ate a peach Darigold yogurt and half a graham cracker before falling asleep for almost 2 hours! That was one of today’s shorter naps. In all I took about 4.

America’s Next Top Model was on tonight! I’m not one to get super excited over TV shows (although I will admit- I was nearly obsessed with Smallville for over a year) but since it was on, I watched it with my sister while eating dinner.

Barbecue tofu on a bed of Romaine and leaf lettuce, with grilled onions, bell pepper, and three (!) cloves of garlic. For dessert I had a piece of bread with peanut butter, chocolate chips, and powdered sugar. This was not photogenic. My belly sure liked it though!

I lied; I don’t have any book reviews to give you. I actually only two halves and a book prediction. See, I’ve been reading, for quite some time now, Lady In the Tower: The Wives of Henry VIII by Jean Plaidy. It’s the life story of elegant Anne Boleyn, beginning in her childhood, and (probably) ending when she dies. It’s written in first-person. Right now I’m halfway through and contemplating whether it’s worth finishing. It seems like the character has reached her goal, she married the king, and now it’s just a little boring. Has anyone else read this book? Up until the boring middle, I rate it a 6.

Another book I’ve been nosing is purely for Honors History, but happens to be entertaining. The No Spin Zone by Bill O’Reilly, I’m sure many of you have read or at least heard of. This guy is so satirical and in-your-face, but in a respectful way, that sometimes reading his interviews just makes my day. He’s so sharp, too! I could never think of interview questions like he asks!

Last but definitely not least is my book prediction for the night. A Walk West (A Walk Across America 2) by Peter Jenkins, is a continuation of his book about walking from New York to Louisiana with his dog. Well, to make a long story short, he has now replaced his dog with a girl (got married!!) and now the two plan to walk to the west coast. I highly highly highly recommend the first book and I predict the second will be even better. It’s sitting on my desk, calling my name.

Thank you for making it through my endless post! I’ll see you all in the morning!

Verse of the Day: “Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not you own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” 1 Corinthians 6: 19-20

Tags: ,

4 Responses to "Sleepy Meals and Book Reviews"

I love your verse of the day. But I’m sorry about your camera… and all that Physics’ homework!

Sorry about your camera. 😦

I’m a sucker for crispy tofu, and your tofu looks so crispy I could reach into my monitor and grab it!

Ahh, so sorry about the camera issues 😦 But hooray for a delicious Tuesday breakfast (love the bowl, too!), colorful dinner, and “America’s Next Top Model! Guilty pleasure πŸ™‚

Bill O’Reilly is one of my inspirations, so I’m glad that you enjoyed that book (I did too). His newest book just came out a few days ago!!

Happy Thursday! πŸ™‚

Why don’t you mash the bananas?? You’re totally missing out

Leave a Reply

