Vegalicious

I’m Back

Posted on: September 22, 2008

Wow, I didn’t blog for two whole days! Unfortunately I also skipped taking pictures until this morning.

I set out to make a simple bowl of spicy oats, but it turned out tasting exactly like biscuits and gravy! I soaked oats overnight in 1 part oats to 2 parts water, then this morning mixed this with some plain soymilk and cooked it on the stove. I added salt, black pepper, and red pepper, then threw in a couple chopped Morningstar Farms sausage patties and some vegan butter. Tasted exactly like biscuits and sausage gravy!

Definitely not a photogenic bowl of oats, but so tasty! And I’m not even a fan of savory oats!

After church my mom and I went to the mall and I got a Bubble Tea. I didn’t have a camera handy but found this picture on the internet:

Mine was honeydew flavored and was a lime green color, with pineapple and apple jellies. If you’ve never had Bubble Tea before, you won’t have a clue what I’m talking about. They’re like tea/fruit/milk smoothies with flavored jellies floating around in them. It’s good, I promise! In fact I’m glad there isn’t a stand near my house because they’re kind of addicting.

I’ve been waiting for weeks for the “perfect time” to make my box of BUNNY MAC. Annie’s whole wheat shells and white cheddar, actually. After opening the box and analyzing the measly amount of shells in the box, I realized I’d have to stretch it a little if I wanted any leftovers. So I drained and rinsed a can of vegetable soup and also a can of black beans, and added these to the mac n’ cheese at the end of cooking. I also mixed in a scoop of flax and a ton of ground cayenne to the cheese sauce.

It was a perfect lunch. I ate about 3 cups worth of the mixture, which I suppose wasn’t too much, and for once I wasn’t hungry an hour after lunch.

My mom and I went for a walk in the beautiful (but too cold) fall weather this afternoon. It was nice, seeing the orange leaves all over the ground and feeling the crisp air on my face. I really haven’t gone for many walks lately, so this was very refreshing. After returning, I was still inspired to exercise, so I went for a 20 minute bike ride. I ate half of a day-old peanut butter sandwich when I returned. It tasted like peanut-butter bread.

Dinner is up in the air for now. My whole eating schedule is thrown off today since I woke up so late, so maybe I won’t even be hungry for dinner. I’m watching an interview of Michael Phelps right now, listening to him talk about what he eats every day, which if you don’t know is an unbelievable amount, so I’ve sort of lost my appetite. It was rumored that he ate 12,000 calories per day, but apparently that’s a myth. He doesn’t eat more than 8,000-10,000 a day. Yeah…that’s still a lot.

I’ll be blogging dinner later if I eat it; if not, see you all tomorrow, enjoy your nights!

7 Responses to "I’m Back"

i love bubble tea! at my favorite chinese restaurant they make it from scratch with homemade soy milk and it is amaaazing. my favorite flavors are mango and strawberry.

and i love your oatmeal idea, its very creative! that will be the next oatmeal to try because i have box of morningstar sausages left over in my freezer.

May I just say that I LOVE YOU for coming up with that combo?! I’ve been craving savory oatmeal for a while and this is EXACTLY what I need! Will most definitely be putting this on my list of things to try~ 😀

What a creative creature you are! Oatmeal with sausage patties… genius!

I love savory oats, so why not spicy oats?! I’m going to try it!

Welcome back! 🙂

Biscuits & Gravy-style oats?? How intriguing!!

Michael Phelps definitely burns off all that fuel, so it’s all good – he’s HOT 😉

I’m glad you all like the idea!

Cooool bubble tea! You jazzed up your mac n’ cheese, it looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

