Vegalicious

The Calm Before The Storm

Posted on: September 17, 2008

Flipping through ED&BV, I noticed a blueberry- and banana-based smoothie. Actually it’s called the “Acai Antioxidant Smoothie,” but since I don’t have any acai, and am not exactly sure what it is (I think it’s some kind of berry?) I decided to opt out of that and just have a blueberry-banana smoothie. It consisted of a frozen banana, 3/4 cup frozen blueberries, a little over a cup of plain soymilk, some cinnamon, and about 1 tbsp agave nectar. Bananas make smoothies so creamy and delicious! I sipped mine out of a Dora the Explorer cup and shared the leftovers with my sister. I don’t know what she thought of it but I thought it was yummy!

Smoothies never completely fill me up. No matter how much I drink, I still need some solid food in me to feel satisfied, so I munched on a bowl of cherry tomatoes I had just picked from my garden!

After an interview I was famished and only had 1/2 hour to make lunch. I was feeling ambitious and decided to make a grilled soy cheese sandwich, partly because I was craving it and partly to make up for the lame breakfast I had this morning. In the oven, I broiled two slices of bread with about one ounce of soy cheese on each and then topped them with red bell pepper and jalapeno (garden-fresh!). To finish the grilling I used a skillet and pressed down on the sandwich with a weighted pan. I like it when the bread gets really thin.

With another bowl of my butternut squash soup! This stuff is so amazing. Next time I make it I’ll use measurements so I can tell you the recipe!

Verse of the Day: “If it is possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.” Romans 12:18

2 Responses to "The Calm Before The Storm"

As the saying goes, a photo is worth 1000 words – everything looks DEEEELISH!! šŸ™‚

hi, thanks for the add! your smoothie looks delicious…i hope we find out what is in it!

Leave a Reply

