Vegalicious

A Day of Delicious Food

Posted on: September 14, 2008

For sure! On days that I put effort into making good food, and make sure not to just eat sweets, I feel so much happier! Aside from a couple of Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches (What? They’re only 140 calories each!) everything I ate today was healthy.

Sometime between lunch and a job interview, I made a classic snack: cottage cheese mixed with blueberries, strawberries, and walnuts. I also had 1/2 a container of all-natural vanilla yogurt, not pictured.

Then after slaving over Physics homework (just kidding-it’s not that difficult) I made some Peanut-Ginger Tofu. This recipe, adapted from ED&BV, was originally supposed to be cashew-ginger tofu, but since I don’t own any cashew butter, I had no choice but to substitute it with peanut butter. I cut the recipe roughly in half and mostly eyeballed the measurements. It marinated overnight with the tofu steaks and then this evening I fried it up! I just love how the peanut butter creates a crusty layer on the tofu. This dish was exceptionally sweet, probably because I added too much agave nectar, so it didn’t pair well with the broccoli and red bell pepper which, if you were wondering, I lightly steamed for 5 minutes or so. I ate the vegetables separately from the tofu.

Announcement: My first VEGAN BAKING experiment! This is the apple jumble mentioned on an earlier post, which now I can officially call an apple crisp! When I made it before, I did something wrong (no idea what) and it turned out like a cake over a layer of apples. Hmm… But this time it turned out great and absolutely crispy on the top, gooey in the middle! I can’t wait until someone wants a piece so I can take a more detailed picture to show you!

All in all, today has been an amazing day. I made great food, ran 2 full miles without stopping for the first time in my life, got a job (!) and talked to a friend I haven’t seen in a while. I hope you all had memorable days, as well, and that tomorrow is even better! 😉

Verse of the Day: “The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.” Psalm 23:1

1 Response to "A Day of Delicious Food"

Oooh, your breakfast looks like a bowl of gems/jewels!! It’s sparkling 🙂

HOORAY FOR VEGAN BAKING!!! You’re a pro, if you ask me!!

Hope your Sunday is just as enjoyable as your Saturday was!!

Love the new blog banner!!

Leave a Reply

