Vegalicious

Some Good Southern Lovin’

Posted on: September 7, 2008

Needing to use up a bag of walnuts parked in my refrigerator, this morning I made a bowl of banana/walnut/chocolate oats which turned out fabulous! The oats had been sitting in water in my refrigerator for days and days so they were already all gooey when I put them on to boil. Then I added soy milk, sliced banana, chopped, untoasted walnuts, and a tablespoon of chocolate chips, saving a spoonful of peanut butter for last, to blob on top! I almost forgot, I also cooked in a spoonful of pancake batter! This made the oats nice and thick!

I then went for a long walk while reading an enthralling book, and was famished when I got back, so I whipped up a fruit and cheese platter:

A small apple and a pear, and cubes of cheddar cheese and Monterey Jack cheese.

I’ve been reading a book called A Walk Across America by Peter Jenkins, in which a hippie-ish boy in his early 20’s hikes through the wilderness all the way down the eastern coast of America, accompanied by only his dog. Along the way he stays with a family living in the deep south in Georgia, where the air is crisp and most of the town makes their money off of moonshine. My point is, while he’s there, he basically lives on cornbread and buttermilk, and reading this unleashed in me a mad craving for some good, home-cooked cornbread like my mom used to make. So for lunch I set out to make vegan cornbread.

It was pretty simple, actually. Two cups of cornmeal, one cup of whole-wheat flour, two cups of soymilk along with two teaspoons of apple cider vinegar, 1/3 cup applesauce (the recipe called for canola oil), 2 tablespons maple syrup, 2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, then 325 degrees for another 10. This bread came out very, very dense but not chewy at all, actually very fluffy, and just melted in my mouth! I had it alongside a bowl of “gumbo,” haha, Amy’s organic LENTIL SOUP.

I took the best piece.

Dessert was two big bites of leftover apple jumble. (I’m not sure what to call it- it’s not a cake or a crumble or a crisp..just a jumble of apples and batter!) This picture is after the two bites were taken out.

This recipe will soon be veganized!

Leave a Reply

