Vegalicious

Spring Has Sprung

Posted on: March 5, 2009

“Well, hello ladies!”

Haha, sorry, I’m watching America’s Next Top Model so I’m talking like Tyra!

Let’s get to the food, shall we?

34092-003

After that scrumptious breakfast, I lasted a long time until I needed lunch. On my run I noticed that the sun was shining! At first I took it for granted but then I realized that usually doesn’t happen around here until spring! For the rest of the run I soaked up the sun and intently listened to the birds singing in the trees around me, and it was very peaceful. Running is so much more worth it in the springtime. And springtime is officially here.

While my lunch was cooking, I had a little snack plate of a small Honeycrisp apple and a plum (they’re in that picture way up there ^).

34092-004

This is what I was patiently waiting for in the oven.  After seeing this picture can you wonder why? A sweet potato (11 oz.) baked at 375 degrees for 50 minutes, split open and topped with cottage cheese on one half and a liberal spoonful of almond butter on the other. On the side, perfect steamed broccoli.

34092-005

You all know how I love bread! So I couldn’t make it through this meal without some. ;) I snatched the very last homemade blueberry waffle for “lunch dessert.” Completely white and nutritionally void, but oh so good!

34092-013

For dinner tonight I had something I don’t normally eat: pasta! For the longest time it was a fear food for me but now it’s no big deal at all. For basically my first time cooking pasta that isn’t mac n’ cheese, I boiled some twirly whole wheat noodles, and topped them with a sauce made from a bottled Italian mushroom- flavored sauce, and mixed in frozen green beans (shh.. you’re not supposed to know they were frozen!) and chickpeas. So simple and fabulous, it only took 15 minutes to make.

As a night snack/ homework distraction I nibbled on a few strawberries and a kiwi, and I’m currently sipping on green tea.

I hope all of you had as good of a day as I did. Goodnight! :D

Verse of the Day: “They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.” Psalm 126:5

3 Responses to "Spring Has Sprung"

Hahah, I know what you mean, I love bread! And mmmm love your eats!!!

lovin’ the eats as always! especially the sweet potato with almond butter – they are a match made in heaven!

omg, absolutely loving that waffle!
and wow! pasta is no longer a fear food for you? that’s great! it still is quite a big deal for me, but I’m trying! you inspire me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

